Campdraft season gets off to a flier

Claire TyrrellCountryman

Riders didn't let the hot and windy conditions deter them at this year's Eneabba Campdraft.

Held on October 8 and 9 at Eneabba Horseman's Grounds, the opening campdraft of the season attracted 116 riders.

Campdraft secretary Leanne Spencer said competitor numbers were up on last year.

"There were 375 first-round starts, which was on par with last year, but rider numbers were slightly up on last year," she said.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


"There were very few local riders but the whole community pulled together to make the event a success.

"Locals contribute to all the catering, a busy bee and behind the scenes jobs. It's a real community event as much as anything else."

Dandaragan's Andy Kerr dominated the open round, with a total of 252 points on his horse, Percy. Kerr scored 82, 84 and 86 points in his first, second and final rounds.

Greg Angilley placed second in the open event with 247 points.

Ross Hall won the top cut-out in the open round on Mighty Duck, with a combined score of 59.

Last year's winner of the open round, Doug Wasley, claimed top honours in the maiden event this year. Wasley scored 171 points in the maiden rounds, beating second place getter Lisa Edwards by five points.

Edwards rode well in the novice round, coming in first with 165 points on her horse, Josie.

Richard Climas came a close second in the novice with 164 points on Crusty.

The encouragement round attracted 10 riders and Keogh Dec won the event on Jet.

Dec scored 80 points in the single round event, beating Amber Neuman by just one point.

The restricted open round was also a close contest. Drew Gibbs scored 170 points riding Dakota Skip Sekoya to win.

Henry Clifton on Hayclif Foxy was snapping at Gibbs' heels, scoring 168 points to place second.

Strong competition in the junior and juvenile rounds was promising for the future of the sport.

Jayden Panomarenko, who won the juvenile event on Flying F Captain Jay, dominated the event scoring 178 points, beating second placed Alex Gibbs on 100 points.

Thirteen riders competed in the junior event which was won by Andrew Bell with 104 points, closely followed by Tom Gibbs on 101 points.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails