New Agribusiness Council board

The West Australian

The Agribusiness Council has announced its new 10-strong board line-up, including four members from WA.

The board includes founding members Roy Duncanson (also managing director, based in WA) and Pingelly farmer and CBH board member John Hassell.

New WA members include Simon Abbott, a remote sensing specialist and Richard Keeves, an e-commerce expert.

Votes are now open for a chairman and deputy chairman, to be announced mid-February.

Former chairwoman and founding member Lindsay Tuckwell has stepped down due to ill health.

The new council expressed appreciation to Ms Tuckwell for her diligence in helping to establish the Agribusiness Council.

Mr Duncanson said the Agribusiness Council, established three years ago, expanded its initial board from the three founding members to 10 in reflection of the growth in the council and its membership.

Other board members include Shaun Coffey, Lance Manning and Neal Price from Queensland, Brett McLachlan from ACT and Stewart McConachy from Victoria, and Professor Brajesh Singh and Mike Cahill from NSW.

Mr Cahill is founder and editor of www.digitalfarmtv.com , which is sponsored by _Countryman _.

Mr Duncanson said the not-for-profit council is a 100 per cent online agribusiness alliance, devoted to lobbying on agribusiness issues and finding growing solutions to return the agriculture sector its rightful place of importance in Australia's economy and society.

More information is available at www.agriculture.org.au .

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails