Bumper field for WA Modified Sedan Title held at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway this weekend

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Albany driver Jason Batchelor's modified sedan ahead of the WA title.
Camera IconAlbany driver Jason Batchelor's modified sedan ahead of the WA title. Credit: Supplied

A big continent of Albany drivers are among a strong field that will contest the 2021-22 SSA Modified Sedan WA Title at Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Eight Albany drivers will be in action on their home track for the Batchelor Industries WA Modified Sedan State Title, in a field of 26 starters which includes reigning champion Jayke Malcolm.

Former WA champion Aydan Trewern will head the local hopes along with Jason Batchelor while Laurie Dowsett is also expected to be at the pointy end of the field.

Albany will also be represented by Miranda Ball, Calon Ball, Rowan Burrell, Merv Penn and Michael Clark.

Malcolm claimed his first Modified State Title in Collie last season and is joined by former winners Trewern, Branden Fraser, Anthony King, Allan Mortimer and Brendan Selleck in the strong list of nominations.

Albany s Aydan Trewern proudly displays his WA
Camera IconAydan Trewern won the title in 2014-15. Credit: Laurie Benson/Albany Advertiser

There will be three Frasers in the field with veteran Peter joined by his two sons Branden and Luke.

Luke finished runner-up in the 2020-21 title while Branden was crowned WA champion in 2019-20.

Narrogin’s Coby Stevens and Casuarina’s Rick Musarra have both featured on the podium in recent seasons.

Busselton’s Kyle Sayer has tasted plenty of success at the Albany venue before and comes into the event in good form.

Drivers will compete in official practice on Friday night before the qualifying heats and finals are held on Saturday night.

Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 6pm on Saturday.

Albany driver Jason Batchelor.
Camera IconAlbany driver Jason Batchelor. Credit: Supplied


W1 Jayke Macolm

W2 Braden Fraser

WA2 Peter Fraser

W3 Brenden Selleck

W4 Miranda Ball

W6 Paul Stevens

W8 Calon Ball

W12 Aydan Trewern

W13 Rowan Burrell

WA13 Shane Dubberlin

W14 Laurie Dowsett

W15 Luke Fraser

W17 Merv Penn

W19 Josh Stewart

W21 Rick Musarra

W22 Brett Mills

W28 Michael Clark

W29 Sam McAuley

W46 Jason Batchelor

W48 Brenden Higgs

W51 Anthony King

W74 Allan Mortimer

W95 Kyle Sayer

W96 Jack McAuley

W114 Daniel Flavel

W115 Gaje Price

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails