AFL grand final: Jack Petruccelle favourite to become first West Coast Eagles player to win grand final sprint

Staff writersThe West Australian
VideoOptus Stadium is expecting a feeding frenzy at Saturday's AFL grand final.

On a historic grand final day, Jack Petruccelle has a chance to achieve his own small slice of Eagles history - and he’s the red-hot favourite to do it.

No West Coast player has ever won the grand final sprint, which has been held 20 times since the club’s inception in 1987.

The unique COVID circumstances of this year’s decider means a WA club is guaranteed to salute, with Petruccelle leading four Eagles and four Dockers in the event.

The speedster is a raging $1.57 favourite with SportsBet to take out the race, well ahead of Fremantle counterpart Liam Henry ($5.50).

Liam Ryan ($6.50) and Ethan Hughes ($9) are next in line. But defenders Josh Rotham ($13) and Tom Cole ($21) are considered longer shots, with Andrew Brayshaw ($26) and Luke Ryan ($41) given little hope by the bookmaker.

Jack Petruccelle, Luke Ryan and Liam Ryan will all take part in the grand final sprint.
Camera IconJack Petruccelle, Luke Ryan and Liam Ryan will all take part in the grand final sprint. Credit: Will Russell/AFL Photos

The eventual winner will be looking to buck a concerning trend that has emerged since the sprint event returned from a 13-year hiatus in 2002.

That year’s winner, Jared Crouch, went on to feature in Sydney’s premiership success in 2005.

But despite a host of big-name winners since then - including the likes of Patrick Dangerfield, Brett Deledio and Brendan Fevola - no one has captured the prize they really desire on grand final day: A premiership medal.

James Walker is the sole Docker to salute in the sprint, going back-tp-back in 2003 and 2004.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails