CBH chief re-elected

Headshot of Cally Dupe
Cally DupeCountryman
CBH chairman Wally Newman stands in an oat crop on his farm south-east of Newdegate.
Camera IconCBH chairman Wally Newman stands in an oat crop on his farm south-east of Newdegate. Credit: Danella Bevis

Newdegate farmer Wally Newman will retain his seat as CBH chairman indefinitely after he was re-elected unopposed to district four.

The CBH grain growers’ co-operative board is made up of nine member directors from five districts and three independent directors.

Mr Newman has been CBH chairman since August 2014 and faced no opposition in his recent bid to remain on the board until at least the 2019 elections.

It also means he will remain chairman of the grain co-operative indefinitely and could remain in power until the of the term.

Mr Newman said he was glad to see growers taking an interest in the board but disappointed he faced no competition.

“It was a record year for growers ... its all about doing it competitively and keeping our growers internationally competitive,” he said.

“It’s really good to see growers are interested in their cooperation, but I was disappointed that no one ran (for district four).”

Mr Newman’s district, which includes growers in the Albany port zone, was one of three district leadership positions up for grabs.

District one’s incumbent director Rod Madden, of Morowa, will stand against Bradley Cripps, of Northampton, and Gareth Rowe, of Geraldton.

The district includes growers from Miling to the north of Geraldton.

District two’s incumbent director Vern Dempster, of Northam, is being challenged by Stuart Mussared, of Cunderdin.

The district includes growers in the northern half of the Kwinana port zone in the Wheatbelt.

Ballot packs will be mailed to residents in districts one and two from January 13. Votes close 10am February 20 and results announced that afternoon.

Hot topics leading up to this election include the future of the CBH network, grain competition and whether CBH should remain a co-operative.

Candidate profiles will be published in Countryman in coming weeks.

Member directors’ terms expire at the third Annual General Meeting after election.

To find out more WAEC returning officer contact Wayne Nicholson on 9214 0448 or wayne.nicholson@waec.wa.gov.au.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails